Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Today's featured artist is Alisha Vernon

Who are you?
My name is Alisha Vernon. I'm a 24 year old girl who loves to paint. I'm a sister, daughter, wife, and dog owner. I'm also comically proud of the fact that I'm 1/4 Armenian.
Where are you located?
I'm currently living in Klamath Falls, OR. I was raised in Tillamook, OR, and I was born in Fresno, CA.
What do you create?
Paintings. Lately I've really been into abstract paintings and dramatic female faces. I use a high quality acrylic paint sealed with a protective varnish. In my opinion, the end product is just as rich as oils and less harmful to breath. I like a 24" x 36" canvas but I'm running out of room for storage in my small house, so I've started creating smaller pieces on Yupo paper.
Are you able to support yourself with your creations?
Not for now. I'm really just starting with the whole aspect of selling, but I would love for that to be true in the future.
Where do you sell your creations?
Currently on the wonderful Etsy.com. Here's a direct link to my store: http://alishavernon.etsy.com/ I'm frequently adding new work to my Etsy store, so check back often.
Where do you create?
Right now, in my kitchen or living room. I can't wait for the day when I'll have a whole room to dedicate to my art making. (and supplies)
What inspires you?
God's beautiful creation. I mean if I really stop to look at the beauty and colors of a flower, the sunset, or even a piece of fruit it can take my breath away. Also, my late father was, and is a big inspiration. He was always enthusiastic and supportive about my art. He was a painter himself and created excellent work. One of his goals was to "make it" as an artist, but life and money often got in the way. I guess I feel like my accomplishments as an artist are for both of us.
What are your goals?
One of my goals is use my art help others in need. Currently I'm donating 50% of my profits to an organization called Project Rescue, which is an organization working against forced prostitution among women and children, throughout India and Nepal. My hope is that I raise awareness for this group, and the issue in general. I also hope to inspire others to do what they can to be involved in a cause greater than themselves.
What do you friends and family think of your creations?
They're all very supportive and quick to give lovely compliments.
What do you do when you are not creating?
I cook dinner for my husband and I, almost every night. Last night was an eggplant green curry. I even cook homemade dog food for my dog. I like to work on my blogs http://alishavernon.com/ and http://meetmyawesomedog.com/. I browse the library. I've been known to get really interested in a certain topic and leave the library only when I've got a stack of books up to my chin, that I can barely carry out to my car. I like going out to coffee, talking with friends and family, being a goof, and watching a couple of my favorite TV shows like The Office, Friday Night Lights, Chuck, and Oprah. I just signed up to be a SMART volunteer again, so hopefully I'll be starting that soon.
Is there anything else you would like to share with us?
I would really love for anyone reading this to be a part of my art journey. To stay updated on new listings and to see all the behind the scenes fun, please consider yourself invited to subscribe to my art blog! I especially love comments and feedback! http://www.alishavernon.com/

1 comment:

Callooh Callay said...

I love the blue swirly painting--already in my favorites. Thanks for the feature!